Banner24.jpg
pk 11-05-21-youtube.JPG

for the festivals it is 5 minutes after 12:00. Also for the festivals in Hessen. 42 festivals have come together to make it clear to politics and society that festivals, like hairdressers and airlines, are economically, socially and culturally important pillars of society. Usually organized on a voluntary basis and with a social network.

They relieve the municipalities and society of important work for youth, cooperation and the promotion and maintenance of cultural work.

But their actors: inside, service providers: inside, artists: inside, technicians, small pensions are looking for jobs at the post office, Mac Donald or in the vaccination and test industry in order to survive. Instead of home office and short-time work. In terms of content, they are treated like commercial enterprises and entrepreneurs and thus fall through every grid.

We want to live - like the economy too. We want culture - just like the television channels, radio stations, public broadcasters.

We want failure guarantees - like event organizers.

We want real financial support and not employment programs like social welfare.

We are fed up with politics observing our festival cancellations without taking any action.

We find it particularly reprehensible that most of our festivals are non-profit associations and are not allowed to build up reserves. Commercial organizers, on the other hand, can draw on all the support from the economy and their own reserves.

We finally want adequate programs and support. So that we can keep up with the times.

Because we make the summer sing.

PRESS RELEASE G | May 11, 2021

Creating perspectives and the future for local festivals

Action alliance “Festivals in Hessen” presents position paper “Giving stages a stage”

The organizers of more than 40 Hessian festivals recently joined forces in the “Festivals in Hesse” action alliance to draw the public's attention to their precarious situation and to encourage political discourse. The alliance is strengthened by the support of the Hessian regional association “Live in Hessen” of “LiveKomm”, the association of German music venues.

Regardless of whether they are veterans like the Herzberg Festival, which has existed since 1968, or new events such as the Marburg Open Air, which is still waiting in the starting blocks, regardless of whether it is a large multicultural event or a heavy metal gem - all organizers are united by the idea that an important part of the lively Hessian cultural landscape is at great risk due to the pandemic. And that perspectives and planning bases must be created promptly that will also create security for the time after the pandemic.

The basis for this is to create discussions between festival organizers and people from politics and society who accept this responsibility and are ready to help shape workable solutions. The position paper "Providing a stage to the stage" is intended to create a basis for this, in which "Festivals in Hessen" describe the significance of the events in the Hessian cultural landscape and formulate clear demands. "The main thing is that politicians take on the good ideas of the organizers in a timely manner in order to make many festivals this year still possible", explains Andreas Becker from "Live in Hessen" the demands of the initiative and refers to the creativity of the organizers as well as their willingness for solution-oriented discourse. What is needed above all is clear framework conditions, binding commitments and funding programs that are geared towards the needs of the festival organizers. At the same time, the paper is intended to set the course for the future in order to sustainably strengthen and support the festival scene even after the corona pandemic.

The position paper summarizes the requirements for maintaining and operating Hessian festivals. It has already been sent to many representatives of political groups in Hessian circles and the state parliament with a request for comments so that we can enter into dialogue with them shortly.

“We organizers are finally demanding the attention and prioritization that we deserve. As committed presenters of a multi-layered music and art scene, as hosts for many thousands of fans, as a potent client for the event industry, as a partner to countless service providers and as a trailblazer for social engagement in voluntary work, "is how Merlin Jost from Trebur Open Air sums up the demands the festival scene together. “It is this point that has been slowing down and paralyzing the Hessian and Germany-wide festival scene for years and forcing many organizers, collectives and associations to give up even before the Corona crisis. “There has been a deep lack of understanding and resentment about this for years - but now we are more concerned with the fundamental preservation of this lively and important branch of culture,” adds Merlin Jost.

Some festivals in the action alliance have already had to be canceled. They are now concentrating on supporting those who are in the second half of the year and have not yet given up hope of being able to present a multicolored cultural program on their stages for at least part of the normal guest capacity. The prerequisite, however, is quick, binding action on the part of political decision-makers. Only in this way can the necessary measures be implemented in good time by the organizers - who often work on a voluntary basis - with the respective municipal administrations.

Further information at: https://www.live-in-hessen.de/festivals-in-hessen/

Festivals of the action alliance "Festivals in Hessen":

AIRPLEY! OPEN AIR BETTER THAN NOTHING! FESTIVALBIRKENGARTEN FESTIVAL · MAIBERG OPEN AIR · MAIWAY PUB AND MUSIC FESTIVAL · MARBURG SUMMER NIGHTS · MUSIC FORGE FESTIVAL · NONSTOCK OPEN AIR · OPEN FLAIR FESTIVAL · PHUNGO FESTIVAL · OUT OF THE KELLER FESTIVAL ROCKFIELD OPEN AIR · RÖHN ROCK FESTIVAL · RUPAT FESTIVAL AND CONFERENCE · SEEBEBEN BEACH PARTY · SEEPOGO · SOUND OF THE FOREST FESTIVAL · CITY WITHOUT SEA · STARKENBURG FESTIVAL · QUARRY ROCKS! FESTIVAL · TELLS BELLS FESTIVAL · TROPICAL TANGO FESTIVAL · TRAFFIC JAM OPEN AIR · TREBUR OPEN AIR · BIRD IN THE NIGHT FESTIVAL · WUTZDOG FESTIVAL

INVESTMENT:
Position paper "Giving stages a stage"

Interview inquiries and queries to: m.jost@treburopenair.de

pk 11-05-21-youtube.JPG

für die Festivals ist es 5 Minuten nach 12:00. Auch für die Festivals in Hessen. 42 Festivals haben sich zsammengeschlossen, um Politik und Gesellschaft klarzumachen, dass Festivals genauso wie Friseure und Fluggesellschaften wirrtschaftlich, sozial und kulturell wichtige Säulen der Gesellschaft sind. In der Regel ehrenamtlich und sozial vernetzt organisiert. 

Sie nehmen den Kommunen und der Gesellschaft wichtige Arbeit für Jugend, Kooperation und Förderung und Erhalt kultureller Arbeit ab. 

Doch ihre Akteure:innen, Dienstleister:innen, Künstler:innen, Techniker:innen, kleinen Pensionen suchen sich Jobs bei der Post, Mac Donald oder in der Impf- und Test-Industrie um zu überleben. Statt Homeoffice und Kurzarbeit. Sie werden inhaltlich wie Wirtschaftsunternehmen und --unternehmer:innen behandelt und fallen damit durch jedes Raster.

Wie wollen lenen - wie die Wirtschaft auch. Wir wollen Kultur - so wie die Fernsehsender, Radiostationen, Öffentlich-Rechtliche. 

Wir wollen Ausfallgarantien - wie Eventveranstalter.

Wir wollen richige finanzielle Unterstützug und keine Beschäftigungsprogramme wie iun der sozialen Fürsorge.

Wir haben genug davon, dass die Politik unsere Festivalabsagen beobachtet, ohne zu handeln.

Besonders verwerflich finden wir, dass die meisten von unseren Festivals gemeinnützige Vereine sind und keine Rücklagen bilden dürfen. Kommerzielle Veranstalter dagegen können sämtliche Unterstützung der Wirtschaft und eigene Rücklagen in Anspruch nehmen. 

Wir wollen endlich angemessene Programme udnd Unterstützungen. Damit wir über die Zeit kommen.

Denn wir bringen den Sommer zum singen.

P R E S S E M E L D U N G  | 11. Mai 2021

Perspektiven & Zukunft für heimische Festivals schaffen

Aktionsbündnis „Festivals in Hessen“ stellt Positionspapier „Bühnen eine Bühne geben“ vor

 

Die Organisator:innen von mehr als 40 hessischen Festivals haben sich jüngst im Aktionsbündnis „Festivals in Hessen“ zusammengetan, um den öffentlichen Blick auf ihre prekäre Situation zu lenken und den politischen Diskurs einzufordern. Gestärkt wird das Bündnis durch die Unterstützung des hessischen Landesverbandes „Live in Hessen“ der „LiveKomm“, dem Verband deutscher Musikspielstätten.

 

Egal, ob Urgesteine wie das seit 1968 existierende Herzberg Festival oder neue Events, wie das Marburg Open Air, das noch auf Warteposition in den Startlöchern steht, egal, ob multikulturelles Großevent oder Heavy-Metal-Kleinod – alle Veranstalter:innen eint der Gedanke, dass ein wichtiger Teil der lebendigen hessischen Kulturlandschaft pandemiebedingt stark gefährdet ist. Und dass zeitnah Perspektiven und Planungsgrundlagen geschaffen werden müssen, die auch für die Zeit nach der Pandemie Sicherheit schaffen.

 

Die Basis hierfür sollen Gespräche zwischen Festivalmacher:innen und Menschen aus Politik und Gesellschaft schaffen, die sich dieser Verantwortung annehmen und bereit sind, praktikable Lösungen mitzugestalten. Eine Grundlage hierfür soll das Positionspapier „Bühnen eine Bühne geben“ schaffen, in dem „Festivals in Hessen“ die Bedeutung der Events in der hessischen Kulturlandschaft beschreiben und klare Forderungen formuliert. „Es geht es in erster Linie darum, dass sich die Politik den guten Ideen der Veranstalter:innen zeitnah annimmt, um viele Festivals in diesem Jahr doch noch möglich zu machen“, erläutert Andreas Becker von „Live in Hessen“ die Forderungen der Initiative und verweist damit auf die Kreativität der Veranstalter:innen sowie deren Bereitschaft zum lösungsorientierten Diskurs. Benötigt werden vor allem klare Rahmenbedingungen, verbindliche Zusagen und Förderprogramme, die sich an den Bedürfnissen der Festivalmacher:innen orientieren. Gleichzeitig sollen mit dem Papier Weichen für die Zukunft gestellt werden, um die Festivalszene auch nach der Corona-Pandemie nachhaltig zu stärken und zu unterstützen.

 

Das Positionspapier fasst die Notwendigkeiten zum Erhalt und Betrieb hessischer Festivals zusammen. Es wurde bereits an viele Vertreter politischer Fraktionen in hessischen Kreisen und dem Landtag mit der Bitte um Stellungnahme versendet, um in Kürze mit diesen in Dialog treten zu können.

 

„Wir Veranstalter:innen fordern endlich die Aufmerksamkeit und Priorisierung ein, die uns gebührt. Als engagierte Präsentatoren einer vielschichtigen Musik- und Kunstszene, als Gastgeber für viele tausend Fans, als potenter Auftraggeber für die Veranstaltungsbranche, als Partner von unzähligen Dienstleister:innen und als Wegbereiter für gesellschaftliches Engagement im Ehrenamt“, fasst Merlin Jost vom Trebur Open Air die Forderungen der Festivalszene zusammen. „Dieser Punkt ist es, der die hessische und deutschlandweite Festivalszene seit Jahren ausbremst, lähmt und viele Veranstalter:innen, Kollektive und Vereine bereits vor der Corona-Krise zum Aufgeben zwang. „Unverständnis und Unmut darüber sitzen zwar seit Jahren tief - jetzt geht es uns jedoch vielmehr erst einmal um den grundsätzlichen Erhalt dieses lebendigen und bedeutenden Kulturzweigs“, fügt Merlin Jost hinzu.

 

Einige Festivals im Aktionsbündnis mussten bereits absagen. Sie konzentrieren sich nun darauf, jene zu unterstützen, die in der zweiten Jahreshälfte liegen und noch nicht die Hoffnung aufgegeben haben, wenigstens für einen Teil der normalen Gästekapazität ein vielfarbiges kulturelles Programm auf ihren Bühnen präsentieren zu können. Voraussetzung ist allerdings schnelles, verbindliches Handeln seitens der politischen Entscheidungsträger. Nur so können notwendige Maßnahmen von den – häufig ehrenamtlich arbeitenden – Organisator*innen mit den jeweiligen Gemeindeverwaltungen noch rechtzeitig umgesetzt werden.

 

 

Weitere Informationen unter: https://www.live-in-hessen.de/festivals-in-hessen/

 

Festivals des Aktionsbündnisses „Festivals in Hessen“:

AIRPLEY! OPEN AIR · BESSER ALS NIX! FESTIVAL · BIRKENGARTEN FESTIVAL · CIRCLE OF LEAVES · FESTIVAL OHNE GRUND · FRANKENSTEIN KULTURFESTIVAL · FREIRAUM FESTIVAL · GIESSENER KULTURSOMMER · GLEIBERG ROCKS · GOLDEN LEAVES FESTIVAL · HEIMSPIEL KNYPHAUSEN · HEPPENING MUSIKFESTIVAL · HERZBERG FESTIVAL · KARBEN OPEN AIR · LIFE – LINDENFELS FESTIVAL · M.I.S.E. OPEN AIR · MAIBERG OPEN AIR · MAIWAY KNEIPEN- UND MUSIKFESTIVAL · MARBURGER SOMMERNÄCHTE · MUSIC FORGE FESTIVAL · NONSTOCK OPEN AIR · OPEN FLAIR FESTIVAL · PHUNGO FESTIVAL · RAUS AUSM KELLER FESTIVAL · ROCK AM STÜCK FESTIVAL · ROCK AUF DER BURG · ROCK DEN ACKER OPEN AIR · ROCKFIELD OPEN AIR · RÖHN ROCK FESTIVAL · RUPAT FESTIVAL UND KONFERENZ · SEEBEBEN BEACH PARTY · SEEPOGO · SOUND OF THE FOREST FESTIVAL · STADT OHNE MEER · STARKENBURG FESTIVAL · STEINBRUCH ROCKT! FESTIVAL · TELLS BELLS FESTIVAL · TROPEN TANGO FESTIVAL · TRAFFIC JAM OPEN AIR · TREBUR OPEN AIR · VOGEL IN DER NACHT FESTIVAL · WUTZDOG FESTIVAL

 

ANLAGE:
Positionspapier „Bühnen eine Bühne geben“

 

Interviewanfragen und Rückfragen bitte an: m.jost@treburopenair.de

BannerTT21-Version2.jpg